stuff

thirty-one days of december

bannnner

“Christmas isn’t a season.  It’s a feeling.” – Edna Ferber

Happy December, everyone! It’s the season of giving and hearth, and whether you plan on celebrating Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or any other holidays, I hope you guys have had a great start to December. I personally celebrate Christmas, and I love giving presents (especially wrapping them), drinking hot cocoa with mini marshmallows, and reading in a mountain of blankets in my room. It’s an awesome time to spend time with loved ones, friends, and family.

This is the first post in series called “Month by Month” in which I will fill you in with my monthly TBR, book challenges/read alongs, playlists, and my most anticipated book releases of the month.  It’s my own way of organizing what I’m reading and sharing my thoughts to you at the same time.  So let’s get started!

❝ t o   b e   r e a d ❞

1) Queen of Shadows, Sarah J. Maas

Yeah.  Queen of Shadows has been out since my little brother’s birthday in September, and I still haven’t made any attempt to pick it up.  It’s the saddest thing for me ever.  I originally was on a book-buying ban when it came out, but in all honesty, the main reason why I haven’t bought it yet is because of all the new releases that were higher on my list.  Queen of Shadows is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series and its latest installment.  I’ve heard many mixed reviews on Goodreads and Instagram, and it makes me scared that once I start reading, I’ll be disappointed.  As everyone says, it’s a book you either love or hate, and I love Celaena’s story too much to put it off.  I’ll be starting this around Christmas time.

2) My True Love Gave to Me, Various Authors

A collection of holiday short stories, My True Love Gave to Me is perfect for cozying in bed with gingerbread snaps and hot cocoa.  I’m going to read a story a day, and they’re all written by a variety of brilliant authors, like Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell, and David Leviathan.  Altogether, it seems like an easy, winter read.

3) The Harry Potter Series, J. K. Rowling

Okay, I admit it.  I’m not the biggest Potterhead you can find out in the world.  There’s people who actively play Pottermore everyday, own all of the Ravenclaw attire, and dress up as Hermione Granger for Halloween.  However, it doesn’t stop me from loving the heck out of this series.  I always reread all of the Harry Potter books around the holidays, mainly because they bring back a nostalgia of good memories.  I don’t know why, but everything with Harry Potter reminds me of Christmas, even Mrs. Weasley’s chunky knitted sweaters.  It’s just a comfortable world to immerse yourself, especially if you’ve been reading Harry Potter since elementary school.  I try to reread the series once a year (I think this is my eighth or ninth time…?), and I’m starting Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the next couple of days.

4) A Work in Progress, Connor Franta

If you read my last blog post (and I’ll leave a link here), I bought A Work in Progress by Connor Franta on Black Friday, and I’ve been dying to fully read through it.  I’ve already flipped through the pages just to see the aesthetics of it, and I love the layout, photography, and little bits and baubles here and there.  This isn’t very high on my TBR list, but I’m hoping I’ll get to it.

❝ christmas wishlist ❞

My top five books I want for Christmas. 🎅🏻

1) Queen of Shadows, Sarah J. Maas

2) The Grisha Trilogy, Leigh Bardugo

3) Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo

4) The Young Elites, Marie Lu

5) Legend Trilogy, Marie Lu

p l a y l i s t //

track one: “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas,” Michael Buble

track two: “White Winter Hymnal,” Pentatonix

track three: “Christmas Medley,” Storm Front

track four: “Winter Wonderland/Don’t Worry, Be Happy,” Pentatonix ft. Tori Kelley

track five: “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” Sam Smith

track six: “All I Want for Christmas is You,” Mariah Carey

track seven: “Ave Maria,” Michael Buble

 

love, linh

One thought on “thirty-one days of december

Leave a Reply

