lifestyle

new year resolutions 2016


A small list of my resolutions for 2016.

  • Read 150 books.

Okay, I might’ve said my goal was to read 200 books on Instagram, but I’ve thought about it and realized 200 was a much bigger number than I first thought.  If there’s 366 days (it’s a leap year!), and I have to read 200 books, then that means I have to finish a book almost everyday…yeah, that’s not happening.  In addition, I start my first year of high school next year, and my schedule would be packed.  150 seems like a feasible number for me, so I’ll stick with that.

  • Write and post on my blog regularly with quality content.

This one is pretty self-explanatory.  I want to post at least weekly, and that might be a little bit of a challenge but one I’m willing to accept.  I’ve always believed in quality over quantity; if a piece takes longer to complete than within the time limit, I’d rather post it late than on time with sloppy technique.

  • Learn to play bar chords on guitar.

For all of you guitar players out there, BAR CHORDS ARE HARD.  I’ve been playing a nylon for around six months, and the only “bar” chord I can play clearly is simplified F and even that is pretty difficult.  My hands are awfully small compared to the neck of my guitar too, and it frustrates me too no end that everytime I attempt to play B or Bm, it sounds like absolute crap.  I will conquer bar chords one day…hopefully.

  • Keep my room organized after organizing it.

Possibly the hardest thing on this list, I’m great at organizing and cleaning.  It’s easy for me to do.  What’s not easy is making it stay clean and organized.  I’m also thinking of redecorating my room to make it more minimal, since the reason it gets messy in the first place is that I have a ton of small knick-knacks I don’t know where to put.

  • Listen to a wider range of music.

I’ve never actually been that picky to what genre I listen to; as long as it’s not country or really obnoxious pop music, I’m fine with it.  I want to discover smaller artists and become immerse into a sound I’m not entriely used to.  Maybe some rap, a little bit of classical, and jazz.

  • Read a classic (that’s not Sherlock Holmes or Lord of the Rings).

There are so many classics I’ve heard wonders about that I never have thought of picking up.  The Great Gatsby, Catcher in the Rye, Pride and Prejudice, Lolita, and so many more.  I want to tuck some of these novels under my belt before I hit high school, too, to be a bit ahead and understand the material.  Expanding into this new genre would be very unfamiliar for me, for I’ve only read A Study in Scarlet and the Lord of the Rings Trilogy.  It seems like a lovely horizon I’d like to explore, though!

What are some of your resolutions?  Tell me down below, and Happy New Year to all of you guys!

love, linh

3 thoughts on “new year resolutions 2016

      1. Np. I never experienced middle school or grade nine. But im sure youll have a blast. Join clubs and care less about how others think of you. Satisy yourself before others, otherwise high school wont be what its suppoesed to be.

        Like

Leave a Reply

