books · stuff

linh’s book recommendations

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 8.16.29 AM.jpg

I’m always being asked to recommend books to readers on Instagram, so I’ve decided to compile lists of books in no particular order I personally enjoyed.  In all honesty, I don’t have a very large range of books I’ve read (most are either YA or middle grade), but I hope this helps you find your next novel!  I encourage you to go through all the genres, and pick one you usually wouldn’t read.  All are linked to their Goodreads page if you’d like to look further into the story.

* = favorites

h o l y  g r a i l  o f  b o o k s (must read)

f a n t a s y

d y s t o p i a n / s c i – f i

t h r i l l e r

c o n t e m p o r a r y

c l a s s i c s

c h i l d r e n’s / m i d d l e  g r a d e

 

love, linh

18 thoughts on “linh’s book recommendations

  1. I feel so ashamed! My childhood wasn’t a bookish one so I haven’t read Harry Potter, Narnia or the lord of the rings! I really need to get onto that! It would also mean so much to me if you checked my blog because I just started and it would be nice to get some feedback and get a follow on bloglovin’ possibly? Thank you so much I love your blog! My blog is http://www.tiffanybooks.com/

    Like

    1. Haha contemporaries are such a go-to read for me, too! Sometimes, I feel like I’m straying away from other genres because all I want is a sweet, happy-ending novel. And thanks; I put an arm and a leg into this blog! I’m so glad you like it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Do you have to read The Hobbit to read the other books? I tried to read it last year but there was too much old english for me and I had to pause and look up everything (i might try again). I know the rest of the series is the same but will my knowledge of what happened in the first book affect my understanding of the entire series? Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually haven’t read The Hobbit; I in fact read the trilogy by itself. I tried reading The Hobbit, but I simply did not enjoy it as much as its successors! It all depends on your mindset and how challenging of a text you’d like to read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much! I have a feeling I will like the sequels and I probably won’t read The Hobbit. I’m actually reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s/Philosopher’s Stone and I was heartbroken when I heard about Alan Rickman but thanks again for the reply and as soon as I finish this -Harry Potter- series, I’ll begin my journey through the Baggins’s adventures. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Your list is very very VERY accurate… except for one book. I really had heaps of trouble getting through the The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Her writing just didn’t click with me 😦 But this list is very good. It’s got basically everything I need. Welp there goes my TBR list.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Ah, lots of people have differing opinions! To be honest, if you haven’t read The Infernal Devices yet, I suggest giving it a try. I loved it ten times better than TMI!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

