books · tags

the secret life of a book blogger

My Ideas - 10

I was tagged by Paul from The Galaxial Word (thanks, Paul!) to do The Secret Life of a Book Blogger tag.  Thought many of you guys may know me from my Instagram account, there’s a lot of bloggers who don’t know much about me at all!  Here’s a little insight on my blogging life and quirky facts about ‘lil old me.

How long have you’ve been a blogger?

Less than four months…I’m still kind of a noob, haha.  I’m hoping to last until the end of the year!

At what point do you think you’d stop?

I don’t think I will completely.  I would just take personal breaks every once in a while when life gets busy, but you do what you gotta do to do what you love!  I’d want to blog all throughout high school, college, and even after I have kids.  It’s going to get harder as I enter freshman year (dang, I feel old) because of the onslaught of advanced classes and juggling four electives, but I have faith in myself that I can do it.

What is the best thing?

Obviously you guys, a.k.a. the readers!  A lot of my audience comes from my Instagram page, too, and I love interacting with you guys on a different interface.  Being able to discuss and make new friends has been and is an awesome experience.  I look at my stats, and I see people from all around the globe.  It’s so cool to have someone all the way from the Czech Republic WHICH IS SO AMAZING reading my writing.

What is the worst thing?

Probably posting consistently as you can see from my one-month hiatus.  I don’t have time!  As I said before, when I get into high school, blogging will become harder to fit into my schedule.  Writing a good, thorough post takes over one hour.  I want to be able to provide quality writing.  The motto I go by is quality over quantity, even if it means a post doesn’t go up every week.  Seeing as I take my own photos and hand-draw most of my graphics, too certainly does not help on the time thing.  However, the final result always makes me feel happy and accomplished when I press that publish button!

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

It depends on what I’m writing.  Taking pictures usually don’t take up more than fifteen minutes, but editing them can add on another ten minutes.  If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’d know that I love drawing, too!  I draw most of my other graphics digitally using an app called Paper 53 on my iPad, and I spend a little over an hour on it…so yeah, graphics can take quite a bit.

Who’s your bookish crush?

Prepare yourself for an onslaught of names…

  • Will Herondale (from The Infernal Devices)
  • Kaz Brekker (from Six of Crows)
  • Percy Jackson (from PJO and HoO)
  • Leo Valdez (from HoO)
  • Mr. Darcy (from Pride and Prejudice)
  • Day (from Legend)
  • Levi (from Fangirl)
  • The Darkling (from Shadow and Bone)
  • Nikolai (from Shadow and Bone)
  • Noah Shaw (from Mara Dyer)

Apparently Leigh Bardugo is really good at writing likable, attractive characters…except Mal nobody likes Mal

Which author would you like to have on your blog?

In all honesty, there’s way too many to name.  I would be honored to have any author on my blog!

What do you wear while writing for your blog?

Currently, while I’m typing this, I’m wearing maroon pants and a frilly striped top, aka my school clothes.  Most of the time, however, I’m at home wearing my PJs, which consist of sweatpants and a tee.  #soattractive

How long does it take for you to prepare?

This is a hard question to answer!  When I really have that creative spark, I can belt out a 700 to 1,000 word post in an hour.  If you add the graphics to that time frame, it takes around two to three hours.  Finding the writing curve and prompts takes ages for me, though, which ends up to once-a-week posts.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

It’s awesome!  I love you guys, writing, and all the love we have in our community.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

From an amateur’s point of view, I think you should write good content, reply to your comments, and don’t worry too much about views.  The point of blogging is to SHARE and INTERACT, and if you do neither, I don’t think your blog would go very far!  Focus on writing what you love (I love books, obviously), and post as often as you can.  If you fret over how many views you get, you’ll downgrade yourself and eventually lose inspiration for writing.  You have to have a positive outlook.

Other things you should know about me…

  • I love to draw.  Seriously, man.  Typography is my favorite thing to do at the moment, but I’m getting into watercolors.
  • Converse are my favorite shoe brand.
  • I’m very strict with myself about grades.  I always shoot for that 4.0!
  • I love music.  It isn’t the first thing that people think of when my name pops into their head.  I play piano, guitar, and I sing!
  • I want to go to NYU for college.  They have a bomb-dot-com arts program, and the culture surrounding the area is just somewhere I want to explore and live in.

Who do you tag?

(sorry if you’ve already done this tag! just ignore this part if you have)

Jenna from Lost Within Words

Tringa and Jordan from Two Souls, One Book

Jen from Myriad Inklings

Becca from Becca and Books

Cheers,

blog - 25

6 thoughts on “the secret life of a book blogger

  1. Hey linah I’ve recently found your blog and absolutely love it ! I was wondering what you use to create your drawings they are down right amazing !

    Like

      1. first of all, thank you, and lol using my fingers would end up in chaos! I use a stylus you can get at the checkout lanes of walmart; they’re honestly nothing special! I’m glad you enjoy my reviews. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

