lifestyle · movie reviews

captain america: civil war

asdkfjasklfjnwoei.jpg

I saw Captain America: Civil War on opening night, and I must say, through buckets of popcorn and a large Coke, I trudged through this movie with valiant spirit, enjoying every last bit of the film.  It was so so awesome.  Let me break it down for ya.

linh’s adventure in the theaters

t-minus fifteen minutes to launch:  …did I really just eat half of the bucket of popcorn before the movie even started?

t-minus five minutes to launch:  Wow, the Doctor Strange film looks pretty interesting!  And I know it’s a Marvel movie and all, but would it hurt if they previewed Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them…?

half an hour into the movie:  I need to pee.  But I can’t.  This is too good to miss.

an hour into the movie:  WHAT?!  Did that seriously just happened?  What the heckles?!

an hour and a half into the movie:  wow.  just wow.  wow wow wow wow wow.

two hours into the movie:  Where’s Thor?  People always say that the Cap’n is the “glue” of the Avengers, but Thor is really the big momma that keeps them together.

movie’s final scene:  YOU CAN’T END A MOVIE LIKE THAT.  I AM NOT SATISFIED.

five minutes into the credits:  *brain processes what happens*

at the very very end of the black and white credits:  what do i do now?  wait forever for the next movie?!?!  what is liiiiffffeee

the actual review

  • Storyline: why why why why was it so good.  This entire movie was practically a break-up song, with Captain America being the whiny unreasonable girlfriend  having his reasons to disagree with surrendering the Avengers’ freedom to the government.  Of course, Iron Man also had a few good pointers on why they should sign the treaty, yet neither side was obviously wrong or right.  This movie was more of a filler chapter to the Avengers #3.  Filler chapters usually suck, so it was impressive that the movie still had a forward momentum.
  • Characters: AHHH I love Bucky and Ant-Man in this movie.  And the Black Panther kicked butt (or clawed butts?), and Spiderman was exactly how I imagined an annoying inexperienced teenager who talks too much that can also kick butt (you go, Tom Holland!).
  • Thor, my second favorite Avenger, is still flying around with his giant hammer seeking info on the Infinity stones, so don’t expect him to show up. *sheds tear*
  • Definitely not the most light-hearted film by Marvel, aka not as much humor.  That’s understandable, since the storyline itself isn’t about flowers and friendships and bonding.
  • Action sequences: love!  When the two sides break it down with each other at the airport, the dialogue and conversations they have cracks me up, and the CG is on point as per usual.  Everything is in beautiful HD color.
  • People always stay until the end of the color credits to see the little snippet, but a true Marvel geek would know to STAY UNTIL THE VERY END.  The actual closing scene is a little insight of Spiderman and a hint that he’ll get his own movie (yay!).

Altogether, from a scale of Batman vs. Superman to Guardians of the Galaxy, I give this a 9/10. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to all Marvel fans!

Until next time,

blog - 25

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “captain america: civil war

  1. I cannot wait till I see this movie! It’s like Hamilton all over again, where even my bookish buddies are getting into Civil War! Your blog is SO pretty, and that graphic is SO cute. Your review of this movie is excellent! Bucky is my smol bean. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you! I worked my butt off to find the Captain America shield graphic haha. and yes, Hamilton is *makes indistinct noises to show undying love*

      Like

Leave a Reply

