lifestyle · movie reviews

the legend of tarzan: movie review

MV5BMzY3OTI0OTcyMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjkxNTAwOTE@._V1_SX214_AL_It’s been nearly a decade since Tarzan (Alexander Skarsgård), also known as John Clayton III, left Africa to live in Victorian England with his wife Jane. Danger lurks on the horizon as Leon Rom (Christoph Waltz), a treacherous envoy for King Leopold, devises a scheme that lures the couple to the Congo. Rom plans to capture Tarzan and deliver him to an old enemy in exchange for diamonds. When Jane becomes a pawn in his devious plot, Tarzan must return to the jungle to save the woman he loves.

The Legend of Tarzan was disappointing.  Let’s talk about why.

linh’s adventures in the movie theaters

ten minutes into previews (we were late): *sees Central Intelligence poster* whoa, I really want to see Central Intelligence!

ten minutes into the movie: *realizes it’s not a Disney live-action*

forty-five minutes into the movie:  The only thing that’s keeping my attention is Samuel L. Jackson’s athleticism (or the lack of it).

an hour and a half into the movie: oh my goodness…the cheesy villain lines…cringe, cringe, cringe.

after the movies: well…that happened.

the actual review

  • Okay, okay, I might’ve thought this was a Disney live-action of the original Tarzan…I was wrong.
  • The visuals were beautiful.  Visually, the entire movie was very pleasing to the eye.  Everything felt so real, almost as if you were swinging along Tarzan yourself.
  • Action sequences were pretty on point.  Again, now that the movie industry has the top-of-the-line tech, so it was definitely exciting to watch.
  • The dialogue made me frown.  So much of a character in a movie consists of what they say, and the word choices made by the screenwriters were just plain bad.  It really brought the characters’ personalities down several rungs for me.
  • The characters did not feel true to themselves.  I don’t think it’s particularly the actors’ fault, but something about Tarzan, Jane, and the villains just seemed very water-downed.  They could’ve been so much more, had more depth, and more life.  With the cliche plot lines and script, I was looking for more character development that was not delivered.    The only characters that were authentic were the natives to the Congo.  Their culture and people were well-incorporated, and it made me smile.  I also loved how they sang The Legend of Tarzan, and ever since I’ve sung an African welcome piece in choir, African music and its pure, raw style is something I’ve been loving.
  • Samuel L. Jackson carried the movie on his back at certain scenes.  Sometimes, his lines and persona were the only things keeping me from getting bored out of my mind.
  • The story just wasn’t there.  I really liked the backstories they tell, like the mini prelude at the beginning of the film. It provided a nice foundation for the plot to lay on.  But the plot kind of sucked.  It flatlined the entire time.  The climatic scenes very sudden, without a rising/falling action to support it.  The Chief of the tribe seeking revenge could’ve been an awesome subplot, but it gave in way too fast.  The actual story prompt was bleh, too.  Sorry guys…it just does not live up to the Tarzan you may remember.

So, yes, that’s my review of The Legend of Tarzan.  Did it have a lot of potential?  Yes.  Was that potential fulfilled?  Nope.  For me, I give this movie a desolate 6/10.  Would I recommend it?  No, but I wouldn’t say you shouldn’t see it either.  Your opinion may differ greatly from mine, and the movie wasn’t a complete flop.  The Legend of Tarzan was just a rather poor adaptation of a Disney classic.

Cheers,

blog - 25

 

6 thoughts on “the legend of tarzan: movie review

Leave a Reply

