books · stuff · tags

mid-year freak out tag

We’re a little over halfway through the year, and I’ve finally read 50 books (but I’m still a good 29 books behind my goal haha)!  I saw Vivian from Inked in Pages do the Mid-Year Freak Out tag where you freak out over the books you’ve read so far this year, and it looked too fun to not do.  Here’s a semi-wrap-up-slash-fangirl-and-rant post about the wonderful (and also not-so-wonderful)  books I’ve read in the last six months.


best book you’ve read so far in 2016

186074.jpgThe Name of the Wind // Patrick Rothfuss

OH MY HECK THIS BOOK.  I originally received a paperback copy from a giveaway on Instagram in 2015, and it sat on my bookshelf for a good six months before I had the motivation to pick it up.  I’m so glad I did!  It’s one of my favorite fantasy novels now; it’s so beautifully written and Rothfuss is an incredible storyteller.  I give this book all the stars in the universe.  For anyone who is looking for a dense, action-packed fantasy tale, you’ve got yourself one right here, honey!


best sequel you’ve read in 2016

17927395.jpgA Court of Mist and Fury // Sarah J. Maas

If you’ve read ACOMAF, this one is very self-explanatory.  A Court of Mist and Fury blew my expectations out of the water.  I honestly didn’t love ACOTAR, so I didn’t know what I was going into when I picked up the book.  But HOLY SCHNITZELS Sarah J. Maas strikes back again.  Here’s a mini review:

  • Feyre = I’ll kick your butt.
  • Rhysand = swoon worthy Illyrian and dreamer.
  • Mor = beautiful + dangerous.
  • Amren = piss me off, and I’ll blow up and kill you all.
  • Cassian = *does something to tick off Nesta*
  • Azriel = I have the largest wingspan…and you know what they say about Illyrians with big wings. *wink*
  • Ianthe = We don’t like Ianthe, sooo…let’s just cross her off. 🙂
  • Tamlin = …we don’t talk anymore. *cue that Charlie Puth song*

One day, I’ll write a full review once I get over all the feels I had while reading this book.  Also, if you haven’t read any Sarah J. Maas books, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN.  HUN, GET YO PRIORITIES STRAIGHT!


new release you haven’t read yet, but you want to

17838528.jpgThe Unexpected Everything // Morgan Matson

Morgan Matson is the queen summer romances.  I’ve read all of her other books (my favorite being Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour), and I cannot wait to get my hands on The Unexpected Everything.  Mason’s writing always leaves you with cutesy-vibes and happy butterflies in your chest.  I’ve heard nothing but positive reviews, and I’m looking to this being my favorite summer romance read this year!

 


most anticipated release for the second-half of the year

22299763.jpgCrooked Kingdom // Leigh Bardugo

If you’ve been following me on my social medias for a while, you’d know that Leigh Bardugo is one of my favorite authors and that I’m hopelessly in love with the Grisha world.  Crooked Kingdom is the sequel to the Six of Crow duology, and I have many unanswered questions that need to be resolved.  Plus, I love Kaz, and I need more of him and Inej action, y’all.


biggest disappointment

25817407.jpgThe Siren / / Keira Cass

I didn’t even get farther than 20 pages into this book.  Yup.  I personally am not a Keira Cass fan, and I truly do not enjoy her writing or stories.  Her characters are as shallow as they come, and the entire series markets at pre-teens desperate for a good romance.  Maybe I thought The Siren was’t going to be as bad as the other companion novels were, but nope.  Sadly, Cass’ books are always a disappointment (unless we’re talking about the covers, then yes her books are on point).


biggest surprise

29008738The Bird and the Sword / / Amy Harmon

I had originally saw The Bird and the Sword popping through my Goodreads feed, and had no idea what it was about.  The summary was intriguing, so I couldn’t help but pick it up, and for a debut fantasy novel (even a fantasy novel in general!), Amy Harmon did a brilliant job.  The plot wasn’t too intent on romance nor bloodshed, which I appreciated.  Often, fantasy novels can be either focus too much on the lovey-dovey parts, or is too gory to handle.  She strayed away from the “literature stereotypes” and wove a world of her own making.


favorite new author (debut or new to you)

Ruta Sepetys

Though many of you may not know this, I’m a big fan of historical fiction, specifically the late 1800s, the 1920s, WWI, and WWII.  Rita Sepetys specializes in all that jazz, and the first book I read by her, Between Shades of Gray, was astounding.  I plan on reading all of her other works later in the year!

newest fictional crush

tumblr_inline_mj67u0gOJN1qz4rgp.jpgMark Blackthorn from Lady Midnight

Everyone loves Julian, but Mark is my favorite.  Maybe it’s just something about his broken heart, silvery-blonde hair, and awkward human interactions that made me fall in love with him.  *swoons*

 


newest favorite character

12000020.jpgAri from Aristotle and Dante Discover the Sercrets of the Universe

I’ve just recently finished Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, and everything about it blew me away.  I love Ari(stotle) and who he is as a person.  He was a fascinating perspective to read from, and seeing him start with pieces and end with something whole was heartbreaking.  AADDTSOTU (longest acronym ever haha) is one of the more eye-opening reads I’ve discovered this year, and I’m beyond elated that I picked it up.


book that made you cry

23341894Every Last Word // Tamara Ireland Stone

I adored Every Last Word.  I cried quite a bit in this book; the story was just too moving not to.  It is by far my favorite contemporary I’ve read this year, and there was something touching about the characters and their stories that I connected to well.  Here’s a book review that I wrote in detail about it!


book that made you happy

23349901.jpgPercy Jackson’s Greek Heroes / / Rick Riordan

There’s nothing like a good ‘ol Seaweed Brain telling tales of tragic Greek heroes.  Reading Percy’s sarcastic retellings of the classic Greek myths was like a throwback to my childhood when I first read the paperback series.  The illustrations in the book are also dead-drop gorgeous; everything about Rick Riordan’s books are nostalgic and pleasant.


favorite book to film adaptation

large.gif

Me Before You // JoJo Moyes

Most of my high expectations are set towards Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (which doesn’t come out until November) so Me Before You was one of the only film adaptations I’ve seen this year.  The film captured the book’s nuances and ambience nearly perfectly; it was a smooth blend of laughter, tears, and heartbreak.  It also doesn’t hurt that Sam Claflin is quite the looker. 😉  Link to my movie review here!

most beautiful book you’ve bought this year

Passenger  // Alexandra Bracken

LOOK AT THAT COVER.  LOOK AT IT.  BEAUTIFUL.  IT’S EVEN MORE LOVELY NAKED; that light blue color looks amazing in Instagram photos.  It’s as photogenic as photogenic gets.


book you need to read by the end of the year

18006496Queen of Shadows // Sarah J. Maas
I still haven’t read QoS, and you can say I’m quite ashamed.  There’s many excuses reasons why I haven’t yet even thought of starting it yet, including the love interest controversy and the accumulative one-stars reviews.  My body and mind just isn’t prepared for what is bound to happen.  I don’t like forcing myself to read a book, but if I don’t finish by Empire of Storms comes out, I may have to.


29056083Harry Potter and the Cursed Child / / J.K. Rowling

JULY 30th = BARNES AND NOBLE MIDNIGHT RELEASE PARTY.  I’VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS MOMENT IN LIFE FOR MORE THAN FIVE YEARS.  THE EIGHTH INSTALLMENT.  HOLY CHEESE.  HOLY CHEESE.  NOT ONLY IS IT A CONTINUATION OF THE HARRY POTTER SERIES, BUT IT’S WRITTEN AS A PLAY, A PLAY THAT WILL BE PREMIERING IN LONDON ON JULY 31.  THANK YOU FOR MAKING THIS MS. ROWLING.  I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE DESPERATELY.  I CANNOT WAIT TO LIVE IN THE WORLD I’VE NEVER LEFT ONCE AGAIN.


25558608A Torch Against the Night / / Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes was the debut novel by Sabaa Tahir back in 2015; now, readers (aka moi) are waiting for it’s anticipated sequel which comes out in a little more than a month from I’ll post it!  ABITA was one of my top reads from 2016, filled with a marvelous story and marvelous characters and marvelous everything.  I’ve heard rumors that ATATN is even better then its predecessor, which is saying something since An Ember in the Ashes is quite praise-worthy.


That’s all for my Mid-Year Freak Out!  Here’s all the cool kids I tag:

Jananee from Head in Her Books

Helen from A Kiss to YA

Georgia from Books & Other Miracles

How many books have you read so far this year?  I’ve read 54 books!  Tell me all of your thoughts down below. 🙂

Until next time,

blog - 25

 

 

 

 

instagram | twitter | goodreads

16 thoughts on “mid-year freak out tag

  1. i just noticed this because my notifications are being stoooooopid. so THANK YOU FOR TAGGING ME. lmaooo at the charlie puth reference and UGH IANTHE NEEDS TO LEAVE PRONTO. and go read tUE NOW BYE

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHH SOMEONE WHO ACTUALLY SHIPS MARK + CHRISTINA that makes me so happy everyone else seems to like christina and perfect diego together for some reason

      Like

      1. YES YES. Perfect Diego just had to jump in and ruin everything. and there’s also people who want Kieran to be with Mark. Like, no. No. That’s disgusting.

        Like

  2. such a lovely post! I am currently reading The Name of the Wind and while it is slow, I feel like it’s gonna blow me away by the end. I’m so glad you read and loved Ari & Dante, it’s also one of my all time favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Name of the Wind does start slow, especially when you’re in the third person; once it starts going into first person, though, things will definitely pick up! thanks for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

